American History

Mary Kathryn Barbier

Mary Kathryn Barbier

Professor and co-editor, War in History
mkb99@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

Military History, American History, Europe 1870-Present, Latin America
Richard Damms

Richard Damms

Associate Professor and Division Head of Arts & Sciences, Meridian
rdamms@history.msstate.edu

(601)-484-0140

20th Century U.S., Diplomacy, Latin America
Freeman

Stephanie Freeman

Assistant Professor
sf1067@msstate.edu

662-325-3604

History of U.S. Foreign Relations, 20th Century U.S. History, Nuclear History
James C. Giesen

James C. Giesen

Associate Professor and Grisham Master Teacher
jgiesen@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

Agricultural, Rural, Environmental History, African American, U.S. South
Mark D. Hersey

Mark D. Hersey

Associate Professor & Co-Editor, Environmental History, the journal of the American Society for Environmental History and the Forest History Society
mhersey@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

U.S. South, Environmental and Agricultural History, Rural America, African American
Andrew Lang

Andrew Lang

Associate Professor and Graduate Co-ordinator
alang@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

American Civil War and Reconstruction, Nineteenth-Century America, U.S. South, American War and Society
Matthew Lavine

Matthew Lavine

Associate Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator. Co-Editor of ISIS, the Journal of the History of Science Society.
mlavine@history.msstate.edu

662-325-8912

Science and Popular Culture, Technology, American West
Alan I. Marcus

Alan I Marcus

William L. Giles Distinguished Professor and Head
aimarcus@history.msstate.edu

662-325-7075

History of Technology, Science and Medicine, Intellectual History, Agricultural History
Anne Marshall

Anne Marshall

Associate Professor and Distance Coordinator
amarshall@history.msstate.edu
U.S. South, Women's History, 19th and 20th Century U.S
Peter C. Messer

Peter C. Messer

Associate Professor
pcm39@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

Early American, Early Modern European
Davide Orsini

Davide Orsini

Assistant Professor
dorsini@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

Science and Technology Studies, Modern Europe (Especially Mediterranean), Nuclear Studies, Public and Environmental Health, US Empire, Cold War.
Judith A. Ridner
Early and Frontier America, Immigration and Ethnicity, Oral History, Public History
Scott

Jermaine Scott

Assistant Professor (Carter G. Woodson Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Virginia, during the 2019-20 Academic Year)
Twentieth Century African American history, African Diaspora studies, Black politics, Black popular culture, race and sport, postcolonial studies.
Leigh Soares

Leigh Soares

Assistant Professor (Richards Postdoctoral Fellow, George and Ann Richards Center, Penn State University during the 2019-20 academic year)

662-325-3604

African American History, U.S. South, 19th and 20th Century U.S., History of Education
Thompson

Joseph Thompson

Assistant Professor
jmt5ce@virginia.edu

662-325-3604

The US South, Twentieth Century America
Thompson

Courtney Thompson

Assistant Professor, Phi Alpha Theta Advisor and Medical Humanities Certificate committee chair
cthompson@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

History of U.S. Women; History of Science; History of Medicine
Michael Williams

Michael Vinson Williams

Director of African American Studies and Professor of History, University of Texas at El Paso and Adjunct Professor of History, Mississippi State University
mvwilliams@utep.edu

915-747-7822 Office, 915-747-8666 Fax

African American History, Twentieth Century America, Africa
Gene Zubovich

Gene Zubovich

Assistant Professor
gzubovich@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

19th and 20th Century U.S., History of Religion, U.S. and the World, History of Human Rights