Agricultural, Rural and Environmental History

Stephen Brain

Stephen Brain

Associate Professor. Co-Editor of Environmental History, the journal of the American Society for Environmental History and the Forest History Society
scbrain@history.msstate.edu

662-325-7084

Soviet/Russian History, Environmental History, Forest History
Ann Daly

Ann Daly

Assistant Professor; On Leave at the American Antiquarian Society for the 2021-22 Academic Year
ann_daly@alumni.brown.edu
U.S. History, 1820-1860; Capitalism; Slavery; Money
James C. Giesen

James C. Giesen

Associate Professor and Grisham Master Teacher
jgiesen@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

Agricultural, Rural, Environmental History, African American, U.S. South
Mark D. Hersey

Mark D. Hersey

Associate Professor & Co-Editor, Environmental History; Beverly B. and Gordon W. Gulmon Scholar in the Humanities; 2021-2022 Fulbright Bicentennial Chair in American Studies, University of Helsinki
mhersey@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

U.S. South, Environmental and Agricultural History, Rural America, African American
Alexandra Hui

Alexandra Hui

Associate Professor and Co-Editor, Isis, the journal of the History of Science Society
ahui@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

German History, History of Modern Science, European Intellectual and Cultural History, Sound Studies
Alan I Marcus

Alan I Marcus

William L. Giles Distinguished Professor and Head
aimarcus@history.msstate.edu

662-325-7075

History of Technology, Science and Medicine, Intellectual History, Agricultural History
Peter C. Messer

Peter C. Messer

Associate Professor
pcm39@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

Early American, Early Modern European
Judith A. Ridner

Judith A. Ridner

Professor & Co-Editor, Early American Studies
jridner@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

Early and Frontier America, Immigration and Ethnicity, Oral History, Public History
Leigh Soares

Leigh Soares

Assistant Professor
lsoares@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

African American History, U.S. South, 19th and 20th Century U.S., History of Education
Thompson

Joseph Thompson

Assistant Professor
jthompson@history.msstate.edu

662-325-3604

The US South, Twentieth Century America