Phi Alpha Theta Announces Prize Winners

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Phi Alpha Theta held its annual banquet April 5 at the Historic Hotel Chester. Nearly 100 people attended. Ben Wise gave a rousing speech in which he considered the union in conversation of religion and SEC football. Much discussion ensued.

 Some 25 people were inducted into the Gamma Nu chapter, sheltered at Mississippi State History. Established in 1950, the banquet was graced by Dr. Martha Swain, who as an undergraduate had signed the initial chapter charter.


Award winners included:

Martha Swain Outstanding Scholar Award, given annually to the underraduate best exhibiting academic leadership and substance—Ryan Lawrence
M. Shannon Mallard Award, for the best undergraduate paper presented in a history course—Zachary Warren
George Robson Prize, for the best graduate paper presented in a history course—Emily Gunther
William E. Parrish Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award—Larsen Plyler
William E. Parrish Outstanding Faculty Teaching Award—Alexandra Hui

Bettersworth-Moore Winner is Kelley Mazzola

Whitaker-DeSantis Awardee is Kristin Veasley


<< More News